The Hub

April 2021 Newsletter

April 2021 Newsletter

Do You Know the Six Levels of a DOT Inspection?

There are six levels of DOT inspections that can be carried out on truck drivers and their vehicles by a state police officer or a DOT inspector. Review the six levels below so you are prepared for your next inspection.
  • Level 1: North American Standard Inspection– Level one is the most common and thorough level. The DOT official will inspect all of the driver’s documents and make sure the driver isn’t under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A complete check of the vehicle including cargo will also take place. This level of inspection will take about 45-60 minutes.
  • Level 2: Walk-Around Driver and Vehicle Inspection– Level two is almost identical to level one except the DOT official will only inspect items that can be checked without physically getting under the vehicle. This level of inspection will take about 30 minutes.
  • Level 3: Driver-Only Inspection– Level three is focused on the inspection of the driver’s credentials including Driver’s License, Endorsements, Medical Card, Skill Performance Evaluation certificate, RODS, HAZMAT requirements, Vehicle Inspection Report, and HOS documentation. The DOT inspector will also check for the use of drugs and alcohol. This level of inspection only takes about 15 minutes.
  • Level 4: Special Inspection– Level four is a one-time check of a specific item which is to confirm or deny a potential trend in DOT inspections. This level of inspection has no average length of time.
  • Level 5: Vehicle-Only Inspection– Level five is the complete check of the vehicle including cargo which takes place in level one but without the driver present. The following elements are checked: brakes, fuel, cargo, exhaust, steering, lighting, suspensions, tires, steering wheel, trailer, windshield wipers, emergency exits, engine, and battery. This level of inspection can will take about 30 minutes.
  • Level 6: Enhanced NAS Inspection for Radioactive Shipments– Level six is for radioactive freight. This involves an enhanced level one inspection and the vehicle, driver, and cargo must be defect free before they can leave for delivery. Those that pass the inspection will receive a decal that is only valid for one trip and removed at the destination. This level of inspection will take about 60 minutes.


CVSA Schedules Operation Safe Driver Week for July 11-17

Mark your Calendars! The Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) has announced this year’s Operation Safe Driver Week for July 11- 17. The aim of the week is to make roadways safer by targeting high-risk driving behaviors such as speed.


Welcome the Newest Members of the Fundamental Team!

Jared Schaffer – Driver Manager

Amanda Cermanski Recruiter

Scott Solomon – Strategic Sales Consultant

Kelly Wildemann – Accounts Receivable Staff Accountant

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap